HOW TO SHUT OUT THE NOISE OF LIFE|STORY TIME| A NEAR-DEATH EXPERIENCE

Abstract: “When you’re in a dark place, it most times feels like you’ve been buried, but actually you’ve been planted; waiting to BLOOM”

Hiya! Hello! Hey! Your Fav Blogger here!

I really don’t know which works right now, it’s been a whole 7 months since my absence and without a word, my apologies. I’m excited to be back here and that’s why this post contains everything you need to know; my absence, what I’ve been up to, and what to expect from my comeback.

The Glitch

Sometimes, life gets to you so hard that you forget how strong you are or ought to be, you just want to be a baby and cry. Guess what? It’s very okay to feel that way, we’ve all been there and I wish more people would be willing to speak about it to let others know that they’re never alone and they will get through it. Well, that’s the reason for this part of my story.

* before the break *

School had just resumed, and it was nothing like I had experienced before. People say it gets easier as we go, well…sometimes, yes! Other times? Maybe no. Academics became quite a lot and required more focus and attention, and I decided that since that’s what’s best for me at the time I’ll do it, put in all the effort, do nothing fun, just study, read, attend classes, do assignments, and all of those things. I never really considered how leaving things I love like writing, music, and drawing could affect me negatively until it was rather late.

After about a month, it was just back and forth trying to balance everything which wasn’t working because you know…“I can’t focus on more than one thing that requires time and effort” so I gave it all up and decided that focusing on academics will make it all better.

I was wrong, very wrong!!

* the break *

You know how it sometimes feel like too many bad things start suddenly? Yup, that feeling was it. When I took the break, I started noticing things that I had refused to pay attention to all the while I was too busy with other things. Fun fact, they had always been there but I just never noticed until the break.

Here’s what I did. Took a complete social media detox for a while, spoke to people physically and connected with my environment, had enough alone time, I relished all the time I had to rest and recharge. All these took about 7 months. Was it easy? Actually no. Was it worth it? Definitely, yes. I can’t really go into details all the things I did because I don’t want this to be an extremely long read, there’s still so much to update you on yunno?!

The Near-Death Experience

I can’t believe I almost gave up on my blog, can you?

It was about 2 months into my break, I hadn’t written a single article although I had plenty of time, there wasn’t the vibe to pick up my pen and book, not even to journal, things didn’t seem to make any sense to me. I always thought about you, what content will you read while I’m away, will you actually love my posts when I eventually come back? Will things be normal again? What if I lose my juiciness? What if I don’t find any inspiration anymore? I told a friend that I don’t think I’ll ever resume writing again and I was bent on that decision.

What’s funny is how she never tried to convince me not to give up, so I told myself “you see, nobody actually cares about your articles or posts…they don’t make any difference” and that coupled with my already existent what ifs messed with my mind.

About 4 months into my break, I started getting mails from people, readers, Instagram followers, random texts from strangers about how my posts affected their lives positively, commending my blogs and some even asking when I’ll resume writing and oh my God!!!!! I was always screaming, moved to tears mostly. I told myself “people actually care Praise”. I’m really grateful for the messages, they encouraged me to stay strong through it all.

The thought of my conversation with my friend flashed back. That was when I got her point, sometimes you need to make the decisions, you need to get through some things yourself…not alone, but by yourself. You need people around to always talk to but the decision is yours to make and I was grateful for the space, she allowed me make my decision.

There were still tons of what if questions but there was one that changed everything; What if I took the time off because I needed to and returned better than ever? And that was it! I said yup, I’ll be back better.

Here I am, back to writing. I was made for this you guys!

I look good geez!

My next few posts will be about all the fun things I did and all the fun places I visited while I was away, so get ready for me.

Love,

Praizey

Featured image: by Keenan Constance from Pexels

24 thoughts on “HOW TO SHUT OUT THE NOISE OF LIFE|STORY TIME| A NEAR-DEATH EXPERIENCE

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started