The Guy in the Dark

Is it just me? Do you ever wonder what you were so scared of as a child in the dark? Was it the monster, ojuju, or something else? Initially, I thought it was the ojuju, but I outgrew that phase and realized it was just a story older people told younger ones, but guess what? THE FEAR DIDN’T LEAVE. I knew deep down that I was still scared of the dark.

Who was in the dark?

Since I knew there was nothing in the dark, why did I still sense that terror in the dark? Once the lights came on, I looked around, and after about a second, “who-hoo! Finally, some life”. Then I paid closer attention, and here’s what I found out; “What if when the lights came on, a monster truly came out? What if I was wrong about there being nothing in the dark?”. These were my thoughts, so I can say I wasn’t scared of the dark because I knew there was nothing. I was scared of what I didn’t know, THE LIGHT.

It’s not the “what is” but the “what if” that scares you.

Very controversial?

If you were assigned a task you aren’t good at, and you know well that you can’t do it, what‘d your response be? “I’m sorry, I can’t do that…can I do this instead?” However, you might be nervous if you agree to the task. Why do you think that happens? You may think it’s because you can’t do it naturally and will err, but why would you give it a try if you know you’ll fail anyway? You gave it a try because deep down, you think, “what if I get it right?”

It’s called the fear of the unknown for a reason. You don’t get frightened by what you know, only what you don’t. If you’re scared of dogs, it’s not because “dogs are dangerous” but because you think, “what if this dog becomes aggressive with me?”. It’s never about what you know but what you don’t.

Why are you so scared?

Think about why you haven’t started that mind-blowing project, that book, that podcast, YouTube channel, that blog. You’ll realize that your greatest fear is not that you’re inadequate or that you’ll fail, but that you’ll do exceedingly above your expectations, that you’re powerful beyond measures.

My friend, shine! We are all meant to shine together in our different spheres. The world is like the sky, and we are the stars, some very bright, some dim, but together twinkling. And that is the beauty, that we’ll give our quota to the world and make it a better place.

Shine unapologetically 🙂

I’d be thankful if you shared this post with someone you care about. Gracias.

Love,

Praizey.

xx

Featured Image by samer daboul from Pexels

14 thoughts on “The Guy in the Dark

Add yours

  1. I was also scared of the masquerade in the dark. It’s how you break these writeups down to even our everyday lives for me. Thanks for letting yourself become a pencil in the hands of God. 🥰🥰🥰🥰

    Way to go praizey_👸🏽!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yeahhhh!!!!

    Finally a post took me back to childhood😅. This is a brilliant write up praise and it happens with our day to day life. Thanks so much.
    Fear has no place in my life!!! I believe I will achieve greater things in anything I set my mind to do.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is just a reminder of how fear can be so powerful when we feed it. The “What if” syndrome is definitely a thing that most of us come across when we want to move to the next big level of our lives.
    One thing is, fear has no hold on us anymore, we have overcome by His blood and shall do greater works.

    Thanks Praize!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. 😂I read this post quite a number of times!

    My loudest thoughts are “your greatest fear is not that you’re inadequate or that you’ll fail, but that you’ll do exceedingly above your expectations”

    This can’t be more true💙.

    What we can do when we break out of this fear thingy spans what this planet can hold.

    PS. The best and worst case scenario of ignoring the fears is you getting 10x better than you were.

    Thanks Praizey!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started