She told me to QUIT!

We weren’t just like any best friends, she was a part of me. She told me my fears and we dealt with each one accordingly; from self-doubt, to self-esteem, to my true self identity. There was never a time she told me I couldn’t do any project regardless of how big it seemed to me. She’d say, “You’re scared of being snubbed right? You’re scared of making a mistake right? If you don’t try, you just might regret not taking a step”.

She was the most optimistic person I ever met. “What went wrong? When did she suddenly become such a pessimist? Why won’t she think I can do anything anymore? What happened to all the reassurance she gave to me in my darkest moments?” I couldn’t wrap my head around it.

It all started when people began to expect just so much from me – “You’re so good at drawing, you should become an artist”, “Oh! You’re so good at hairdressing, you should become a stylist”, “You write so well, you should be an author”, “You sing so well, why don’t you fuel your passion in music?”.

And there was one…

“You do plenty things, but what exactly are you even good at?”.

I spoke with her about all of these, and she said “What if truly, you aren’t good at anyone? You’re not a professional artist, or stylist, or writer, or musician” and for the first time in such a long time, she didn’t tell me they were all just fears that we had to deal with, she didn’t tell me it was just in my head, she didn’t reassure me of how amazingly wonderful I am.

It was a gloomy night with a rush of breeze, I sat in the cold, the breeze brushing my skin, it felt like the world had crumbled on me. I said softly to her, “So what do you think I should do?”, she said in a croaky voice, “I think you should just QUIT. Take a break, it’s was probably never worth it after all”. Then I realized, THAT’S MY VOICE!

Oh my God! That was exactly my voice, but a suffocating version of my voice. Yes! It’s was my Critical Inner Voice(CIV).

I realized that I allowed what people said, get to me so much that I actually stopped doing any of the things I loved doing. I quit drawing, singing, hair styling, and what I can refer to as my alma mater, WRITING! And that has been the reason for my absence here.

She was never a threat

For the longest time, my inner critic was never a threat to me, so I was determined not to make her one. All she did was communicate an underlying fear to me although, she wasn’t nice about it sometimes. It’s true, I’m not a professional in all these skills, but I really don’t need to. I told her, “I’m taking the break to choose one of these skills and build on it, till I become a professional at it”.

You can already guess what I chose right? Yes! Absolutely. Writing has always been a free flow, I never had to force myself to come up with articles, essays and posts, so it’s only logical that I nurture this skill.

So far, so good! We are cool now.

The inner critic never leaves us, so the earlier you stop seeing it as a threat, the better it is for you. Just listen carefully to those fears you have, and deal with them one after the other. You’d be surprised that the CIV speaks absolutely out of fear and concern.

If you found this post helpful in anyway, please share to someone else. I’d mean a lot to me.

Love,

Praizey.

Ever gorgeous 🙂

29 thoughts on “She told me to QUIT!

Add yours

  1. I’m so excited you choose to follow your desire👏 You will do exceedingly abundantly above all that you ask or think accordingly to power that works in you❤️ Welcome back!!!! We missed you

    Liked by 2 people

  2. We’ve missed you dishing us doses of excellent writeups like this. This one reaches the depth of my heart because I can truly relate….

    Go praizey_👸🏽!!!!!! This is the best yet🔥🔥

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh my! At a point, I felt like “she” was of physical form. Everything became so real and dramatic. But at the end the message was passed across really well.

    Your reaction to the innocently and really concerned, anxious inner voice should not be self-pity or quitting, but you should work with that voice in the discovery and shaping of your best self.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That was the point of it, I needed it to captivate you becomes topics on the Critical Inner Voice could be so tiring and continuous🤣

      Yes, it all helps in self discovery. Thanks so much🤗🤗

      Like

  4. This is really nice and I can relate so well to it. Your writings are so inspiring and this is my best so far. I’m able to understand why I stopped writing and this is my encouragement to continue. Thank you so much for this. You’re a really good writer.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This isn’t a sermon but I am blessed 🙌🏽🙏🏾…Thank you praizey❤️
    Keep doing what you love!! You are big already 🚀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey Praize,

    I’m glad you are back!

    This is a wonderful piece that highlights what most of us go through in our pursuit of purpose.

    I pray all of divinity walks with you in the path you have chosen to follow.

    I’m rooting for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is so niceee! I love how you started the story by describing your inner thought as a Best friend, and the content is so worth it and so relatable. I think everyone struggles with their inner thoughts from time to time. Thanks Praizey. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ahhh… This piece!
    I actually thought it was someone you were referring to. But one thing have learnt and I’m taking note of is to face my fears and deal with them one of another.
    Thank you for another amazing piece in a long while.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. You write well dear. It’s Straight forward, easy to comprehend and above all, it was a great message not just an article.
    Welcome back!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started