TOUGH TIMES DO LAST

Abstract: It's like a LITERAL hole in your heart you carry around - the ache, the shortness of breath, the anxiety, and incessant panicking, and gradually, the hope that everything will fade away eventually. It will, won't it?

Why do I have to be like this?” is usually my thought when I think of where my personality has left me.

I’m usually the Strong, Understanding, Considerate, and Empathetic one in the group. The friend to call when you want to brainstorm an idea, the friend to call when you’re down, need encouragement or prayer, the go-to person. The one who carries everyone’s problems on her head, seeking a solution. The friend everyone calls “THAT FRIEND,” and that’s such a blessing. Or so I think.

The con of being that friend is that I find it hard to be unwell. There’s an unsaid reminder to be strong for everyone – so hard times are gone through alone even though it’s killing. You tell yourself that you’ll be fine because, like they say, “tough times don’t last. Tough people do” And how well has that worked? Ehhh…not so much

The Shift is The Follow-Up

Seconds to Minutes,

Minutes to Hours,

Hours to Days,

Days to Weeks,

Weeks to Months,

and counting.

How do you explain to a perfectly healthy person whose life took a drastic turn to constant fighting for strength for each passing day that tough times don’t last? How do you sugar-quote your words or make them flattering? Tough times last, but the transformation is in the follow-up.

Tough times do last, but the transformation is in the follow-up.

NUMBING THE PAIN, KEEPING YOURSELF PREOCCUPIED, OR BEING NON-CHALLANT isn’t Toughness. That’s proof of WEAKNESS. Do I expect you to cry all day long? No! There’s room to cry though.

I’ve learned to accept whatever is happening – my feelings, and focus on the things I can control; my daily routine, eating habits, productivity, and connectivity, among others.

I have also adjusted from being the STRONG person in the group, and guess what? IT’S NOT MEDIOCRE TO LEAN ON OTHERS FOR HELP AND SUPPORT. Your people want to be there for you when you need them, yes! And don’t hesitate to avoid negative people – you need people who’ll strengthen and correct in love.

I’ve invested in self-care(yes, even more, haha) and taken little yet consistent steps toward my goals. Feeding better, intentional skin care, exercise, and taking basic steps toward complete well-being. Finding purpose per season and actively doing the tiniest thing to move you closer to your goal will bring you satisfaction and overall improvement.

I hope you find the strength to do what you ought to during tough times because they last. However, you can get through them.

I’d also love you to share this post to as many people as you think this post will help in some way. Thank you.

Write to you soon,

Love.

Your fave❤️

Featured image by Rodrigo from Pexels

8 thoughts on “TOUGH TIMES DO LAST

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started